4/28-5/1

It is so hard to believe that we end this week in May.  Where did the school year go?  I have loved having individual meets with my 3rd graders.  It is such a wonderful way to feel connected during this strange time!

In honor of Poetry month, I have included some Shel Silverstein activities.  Look for them in the writing assignment section.  I love his poetry, it reminds me of my own childhood! I remember memorizing “Sarah Cynthia Sylvia Stout Would not Take the Garbage out” When I was in the 4th grade. I’m pretty sure I put a banana peel on my head during the presentation. I would love for my kiddos to share their Sylverstein style poem on Friday.

This week, there is also an opportunity for your 3rd grader to research someone for a biography report.  Third graders will also be writing an opinion piece about someone who is an important hero. There is also a Nova letter to Aubrey this week and a short imaginative paragraph.

Reading topics will explore finding the main idea, and the text structure of compare and contrast.  For math, our class will continue with Zearn and area.  Practice work will center on time and area of rectangles.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *